The Blog

Enlightening Wisdom For An Abundant, Joyful & Love-Filled Life

How To Soothe Your Chakras Through Massage

How To Soothe Your Chakras Through Massage

As a term coined and used by several different religious and spiritual groups, I’d first like to establish exactly what Chakra means. Your Chakras are any of several points of physical or spiritual energy in the human body. If you are somewhat familiar with energy work, energy healing, or spirituality in general, perhaps you have heard someone in this line of work mention Chakra healing or blocked Chakras.

Well, energy healing is a common practice in Chakra Energy work, because you are able to target the energy fields surrounding the body that release both emotional and physical pain.

In Sanskrit, the word Chakra means “wheel”, so your Chakras are the spinning wheels of energy that move in a clockwise direction throughout the body. And the more applied meaning is the winding of energy out of our bodies and into the energy field that surrounds us. To learn more about each of your 7 Chakras, check out this complete guide by our friends over at Astrology Answers!

So have you ever wondered how to heal your Chakras? When your Chakra is blocked, this means there is a build-up of energy within you that needs to be released in order for you to feel more balanced within the body and the mind.

There are many techniques you can use to heal or unblock your Chakras, like reciting positive affirmations, being exposed to color vibrations (the colors associated with each Chakra), meditation, yoga, tea, and even music. But using the massage technique is an excellent form of energy healing for beginners. In Hinduism, there are 7 Chakras in the body, and I’m going to show you the different movements and massages you can use to awaken each of them.

Back Massage
1. The Root Chakra

Location: Tailbone

Function: Our connectedness with the Earth (grounding).

Color: Red

Massage: You can quickly ignite energy flow to the Root Chakra through massage by targeting the gluteal muscles, legs, and feet.

2. The Sacral Chakra

Location: Middle of the abdomen two inches below and inward of the navel

Function: Our creative life force, helping us to enjoy life on Earth.

Color: Orange

Massage: Apply gentle, yet sustained pressure to the myofascial tissue (or the tough membranes that surround, connect, and support your muscles) of the hip flexors. This can be done lying on the ground, using a foam roller targeting areas in the hips that feel stiff. With this technique, you are opening up your hips to allow more energy to flow through the lower abdominal region.

3. The Solar Plexus

Location: Stomach / upper abdomen

Function: Also known as the Warrior Chakra, this gives us our self-confidence, sense of identity, and personal power.

Color: Yellow

Massage: It’s recommended to use massage oils in a clockwise direction around the navel and abdomen. When you massage in this motion, you are helping to eliminate waste in the body and bring on better organ function. This massage technique helps to stimulate better conscious awareness, ultimately reinvigorating your personal power.

4. The Heart Chakra

Location: Center of the chest above the heart

Function: Our ability to relate to everything connected to the heart through love, compassion, empathy, kindness, etc. It provides love for ourselves and love for others.

Color: Green

Massage: You can open up the Heart Chakra by massaging the upper back, including slight pressure along the shoulder joint and upper arm. Myofascial releases can also be used in these regions to open up the pectoral muscles, allowing for more energy to flow through.

5. The Throat Chakra

Location: Throat

Function: Voices our personal truths and gives us the ability to speak clearly and convincingly.

Color: Blue

Massage: You can use gentle traction along the neck, including the muscles surrounding the neck, to release energy here. Massaging the neck towards the base of the head is also a helpful technique for the Throat Chakra.

6. The Third Eye Chakra

Location: Between the eyes

Function: This is our extrasensory / intuitive / psychic perception. It’s what opens our minds to what’s beyond the five senses.

Color: Indigo

Massage: Massaging the muscles in the nasal sinuses, jaw, and temples, also known as brow stripping, is the technique that can be used to open up the third eye.

7. The Crown Chakra

Location: Top of the head

Function: This is our thought and conscious energy. It’s what connects us to the entire universe.

Color: Violet

Massage: Here, you can perform a scalp massage, and even hair pulls to release cranial tissue adhesions. Cervical traction can also be used here to release even more energy.

Chakras can become blocked by negative energy, so releasing your Chakras to promote healthy energy flow will not only help you find balance within your body and mind but also help you reach a higher state of consciousness. This method could be just the remedy you need to overcome feeling sluggish, stress, and even a sense of lack. The power of physical touch is truly amazing, read more about how it can heal you from the outside in, right here!

And now that you know how to soothe your Chakras using massage, you might be wondering if any of your 7 Chakras are blocked. Take this quick (and revealing) quiz to determine which of your Chakras need to be released. You might be surprised at the results, so go here now to reveal it all!

Chakra quiz

Natalie Ledwell is a best selling author, speaker and successful entrepreneur. She's passionate about helping others to achieve their greatest dreams and ambitions through her personal development programs and her online TV show, The Inspiration Show.

Recommended For You

Social Media